~Review~ The Golden Bowl – Covina, CA

The Golden Bowl in Covina offers the BEST teriyaki I’ve eaten, yet! The restaurant is located on E Rowland and Second, between Citrus and Barranca, and isn’t very eye-catching or appealing from the outside, but don’t let the drab, out-dated exterior fool you! This restaurant means business!

I’ll admit, to start off with, that I’ve never had real teriyaki before, and my furthest foray into the land of “Teriyaki” up to this point had been teriyaki-flavored beef jerky and teriyaki meat marinades. But, on the advice of a friend, and since she was footing the bill, I decided to try the Beef and Chicken plate. She told me that they give you a lot of food, but nothing prepared me for what I saw when I finally got my “plate” (which is really just a Styrofoam 3-section take-out dish.)

The main section was filled with plain white rice and topped with a generous helping of both chicken and beef. The smaller sections held my iceberg lettuce salad and cup of ranch dressing. I can’t remember for sure if it was included as part of the meal or was priced separately, but I also got a potsticker.

I’m not exactly a dainty eater, but after finishing my salad and potsticker, I barely made a dent in my meat and my rice. In fact, I had so much left over that both my husband and I ate it as a meal a few nights later. The meat was extremely tender and very flavorful, and had just the right amount of marinade and moisture. The restaurant has teriyaki sauce, chili sauce, ketchup, and yellow chilis available, and using the soy sauce on the table with both the teriyaki and chili sauces, I turned the plain “sticky rice” into a tasty dish that would be fit to eat by itself.

The prices at the Golden Bowl are also extremely reasonable for the portions they provide. My plate was priced at $8.00 on the menu, and like I mentioned earlier, it provided me not only a filling lunch, but also supper for myself and my spouse. It’s not very often you can find places like this, especially in the Los Angeles area! How often can you literally get three hot meals at a sit-down restaurant for eight crisp ones?

If you’d like more information on the Golden Bowl, such as reviews and pictures, see these links:
Google Maps
Yelp
Foursquare
UrbanSpoon Golden Burger on Urbanspoon

(*Note!* Some of these links list the restaurant as “Golden Burger”. I’m not sure why, but it’s the same place.)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. WJACKNYC111
    Jul 28, 2013 @ 17:44:29

    Beef and chicken both – and no yucchies ? Sounds delightful!!
    But now I’m hungry!!!!!! :-p

    Reply

  2. PSP [Archiwum]
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 04:54:00

    Very well written story. It will be supportive to anybody who utilizes it, including yours truly :). Keep doing what you are doing – i will definitely read more posts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

